ASRA Pain Medicine Update

John J. Bonica Award Nominations Due

Dec 2, 2020, 10:40 AM by Anne Snively

John J. Bonica Award and Lectureship

The ASRA John J. Bonica Award Committee is seeking nominations from the ASRA membership for physicians and scientists who have distinguished themselves in the following areas of pain medicine: research, teaching, and clinical practice.

The John J. Bonica Award honors the abundant contributions Dr. Bonica made to the field of pain medicine. Dr. Bonica championed the collaboration of specialists from multiple disciplines in the evaluation and treatment of patients with pain. He wrote the first comprehensive textbook devoted to pain management, mentored clinicians and colleagues, and started the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP). Nominees for this award should embody the ideals of John Bonica and his passion for pain medicine as manifested through their contributions by way of research, teaching, and clinical practice.

The nominee does not have to be a member of ASRA. Previous awardees and current members of the Board of Directors of ASRA are not eligible. 

ASRA is seeking nominations for the 2022 award cycle. Awardees will become lifetime members of ASRA and be recognized at the 21st Annual Pain Medicine Meeting held in Orlando, FL, November 17-19, 2022.

Nominations must be received by January 15, 2021.


Make a nomination

Close Nav