ASRA Pain Medicine Update

A Guide to Participation in Performance Year 2023

Dec 16, 2021, 13:41 PM by ASRA Pain Medicine

The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) was signed into law April 2015, repealing the flawed sustainable growth rate (SGR) and establishing a two-track Quality Payment Program (QPP) that emphasizes Medicare’s transition to value-based payment and delivery. Under the QPP, eligible pain medicine practitioners are required to participate in the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) or are considered a qualifying participant (QP) in an Advanced Alternative Payment Model (APM) and are exempt from MIPS reporting. With the QPP moving into its seventh year – the 2023 performance period – pain medicine practitioners should note important changes that impact participation.

Read the guide here.
Close Nav