Joint Commission Leader Will Discuss New Pain Assessment and Management Standards

Jul 11, 2017

An exclusive session being offered at ASRA's 16th Annual Pain Medicine Meeting will enable attendees to learn about the Joint Commission's newly revised Pain Assessment and Management Standards directly from the source. David W. Baker, MD, MPH, FACP, will present the new standards at a session on November 18th. The standards are slated to take effect in January 2018.

David Baker, MD, MPH, FACP

Dr. Baker is the executive vice president for Health Care Quality Evaluation at the Joint Commission. The presentation is part of  "Prospering in the New Healthcare Environment" scheduled for 10:45 am-1 pm. Other speakers at the session include Joseph Perz, DrPH, MA, healthcare epidemiologist and team leader with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, Matthew Popovich, PhD, the director of Quality and Regulatory Affairs with the American Society of Anesthesiologists, and Richard Rosenquist, MD, chair of the Pain Management Department at Cleveland Clinic. ASRA President Asokumar Buvanendran, MD, will moderate the session.

The ASRA exclusive program is designed to help attendees learn about the infection risks of interventional procedures carried out in an ambulatory surgery center, as well as evolving MACRA and MIPS measures for pain management and the challenges of health care reform as it pertains to pain physicians. It is part of the ASRA-ASA Practice Management Portfolio, which is open to all meeting attendees.

Dr. Baker oversees development of standards, survey methods, national patient safety goals, and performance measures.  He is also editor-in-chief for the Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Safety and was the chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics at the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University from 2002-2015.  He has published over 250 original research articles on quality measurement, quality improvement, and healthcare disparities.

Joseph Perz, DrPH, MA

Matthew Popovich, PhD

Dr. Perz has guided dozens of outbreak investigations and special studies, drawing attention to the need for better implementation and oversight of infection control practices in ambulatory care settings.

Dr. Popovich focuses on measure development and implementation in CMS payment programs.  He and members of Quality and Regulatory Affairs, engage, support and assist members on quality reporting programs and regulatory issues that impact members and the profession. 

Dr. Rosenquist is a past president of ASRA, recipient of the John Bonica Award, a member of ASRA's Finance Committee, and chair of the ASA's Committee on Pain Medicine as well as

Richard Rosenquist, MD

chair of the American Board of Anesthesiology's Pain Medicine Examination Committee and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education's Anesthesiology Residency Review Committee and Task Force on the Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Fellowship.

Learn more about the Practice Management Program here. Register for the 16th Annual Pain Medicine Meeting here.