Sandra Kopp Joins ASRA Board of Directors

Sep 13, 2019

Dr. Sandra L. Kopp

Sandra L. Kopp, MD, has been appointed to serve on the ASRA Board of Directors effectively immediately. She will fill the vacancy left by the departure of Dr. Brian Sites, who has been appointed editor in chief of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (RAPM).

Dr. Kopp has been active in ASRA for many years. Currently, she is an associate editor for RAPM and a member of the Labat Award Committee. She has served as a member of the CME Committee, chair of the 2014 Spring Meeting, and faculty advisor to the Resident Section Committee. She coauthored the ASRA coagulation guidelines for regional anesthesia and has authored or coauthored well over 60 peer-reviewed articles.

A professor of anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, Dr. Kopp also serves as vice chair of Integration and Convergence in the department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, the chair of the division of community anesthesia, and the chair of surgical and procedural practice in southeast Minnesota.

She graduated with a BA from St. Olaf College in Northfield, MN, and received her doctor of medicine degree from the University of Minnesota School of Medicine in Minneapolis. Dr. Kopp completed her internship, anesthesiology residency, and regional anesthesia fellowship at Mayo Clinic. Her research interests include regional anesthesia and analgesia for orthopedic surgery, peripheral nerve injury, anticoagulation, and local anesthetic toxicity.

Return to all news