Congratulations to Inaugural Asokumar Global Scholars

Dec 23, 2019

Seventeen individuals were named Asokumar Global Scholars during the first year of the program. The Asokumar Grant for Global Scholars was created by Immediate Past President Asokumar Buvanendran, MD, and his wife Jenn to support physicians from low-resource countries and share the latest findings and evidence-based standards of regional anesthesia and pain medicine. Recipients will receive annual subscriptions to ASRA's official journal, Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (RAPM) for 2020. The award supports ASRA's mission and values by spreading high-quality research content to the global community.

Congratulations to the following individuals:

Ananya Abate, MD, Ethiopia

Shariar Ahmed, MD, Bangladesh

Anbarasan Ardhanari, MD, DNB, India

Salahuddin Azad, FCPS, DA, Bangladesh

Rohit Chaudhary, MD, Nepal

Nyandwi Jean Dammascene, MD, Rwanda

Henry Jason Daz, MD, Philippines

Lenin Babu Elakkumanan, MD, India

Maryna Freigofer, MD, Ukraine

Ain Elmarwa Hassan, Egypt

Jacek Janicki, MD, Poland

Lily Jingco, MD, Philippines

Manas Manohar, MBBS, MD, India

Hinaben Patel, MD, India

Monisola Sonaike, MBChb, PGDA, Nigeria

Shimelis Tamene, MD, Ethiopia

Gosa Tesfaye, MD, Ethiopia

The Asokumar Grant for Global Scholars is now accepting applications for the next award period. The deadline to apply is March 1, 2020. Please share this opportunity with your colleagues. 

Return to all news