New ASRA Leadership Takes Office at Meeting in Las Vegas

May 18, 2015

New officers for the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA) began their terms at the 40th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Meeting. Past president Joseph M. Neal, MD, officially handed the gavel to Oscar de Leon-Casasola, MD, the new president of ASRA during the annual Excellence in ASRA Awards Luncheon. The event officially marks the change in leadership, with Asokumar Buvanendran, MD, beginning his term as president-elect, and Eugene Viscusi, MD, serving as treasurer.

Dr. de Leon-Casasola is vice-chair for Clinical Affairs and professor of Anesthesiology (Tenure Track) in the Department of Anesthesiology and professor of Medicine at the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. He is also chief of the Division of Pain Medicine and professor of Oncology at Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, NY.

A long-time member of ASRA, Dr. de Leon-Casasola previously served as chair of the Scientific Committee for ASRA’s Third Annual Pain Medicine Meeting. His experience also includes serving as the director of the Acute Pain Service, director of the Surgical Intensive Care Unit, and chief of Critical Care Medicine at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. He was editor-in-chief of the Journal Techniques in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Management from 2000 to 2011. He has also served on the Editorial Board of Seminars in Pain Medicine, Journal of the Spanish Society of Pain, and the Journal of the Argentinean Society of Anesthesiologists.

Dr. de Leon-Casasola received his medical training at the Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala after obtaining a degree in Music with Specialty in Piano. He underwent surgical residency the State University of New York (SUNY) at Downstate, then anesthesia residency at SUNY-Buffalo.

Dr. de Leon-Casasola is board certified in Anesthesiology, Critical Care Medicine, and Pain Management. Dr. de Leon-Casasola is a member of the Pain Medicine Committee of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) and the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, Adult Cancer Pain Panel. He served as chair of ASA’s Regional Anesthesia Committee until 2010 and was a member of the ASA task force that created the Society’s Guidelines for the Treatment of Chronic Pain Management, published in 2010. Currently, Dr. de Leon-Casasola serves as co-chair of the joint ASA/American Pain Society committee that is drafting acute pain guidelines.


Dr. Buvanendran is an anesthesiologist specializing in pain medicine, and his academic activities are divided between research, teaching, and clinical duties in the Rush University Department of Anesthesia in Chicago, IL, and national advocacy for the advancement of pain care.

He brings a unique perspective of a very busy clinical practice of acute and chronic interventional pain medicine with research. He is involved in various clinical and basic research in the field of acute and chronic pain.


Dr. Viscusi is a professor of Anesthesiology and director of Acute Pain Management in the Department of Anesthesiology at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA. He received his medical degree from Jefferson Medical College and completed an anesthesiology residency at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Dr. Viscusi developed a novel, nurse-driven model for acute pain management with specially trained nurses in the early 1990s that has served as a model for healthcare delivery. He has lectured extensively and contributed more than 75 peer-reviewed articles in journals including JAMA, Anesthesiology, Anesthesia & Analgesia, and Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine.

He currently serves on the editorial board of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, the Clinical Journal of Pain, and the American Journal of Orthopedics. Dr. Viscusi has served on the ASRA Board of Directors since 2011.