Call for Nominations

ASRA is currently seeking nominations for the following:

Gaston Labat Award

The ASRA Gaston Labat Award Committee annually seeks nominations from the ASRA membership for individuals who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the development, teaching, and practice of regional anesthesia in the tradition of Gaston P. Labat, MD (1843-1908). The Gaston P. Labat Lecture is presented each spring at the ASRA Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting. Members are asked to nominate qualified anesthesiologists who have distinguished themselves in two of the following areas of regional anesthesia: research, teaching, or clinical practice. The emphasis of the award is to recognize those who have fostered the art and science of regional anesthesia in the tradition of Gaston Labat by contribution to the performance of research that has furthered the specialty, innovative teaching traditions, organizational contributions, or simply exemplary clinical practice of regional anesthesia that has encouraged its expanded application.

The recipient will present the Gaston Labat Lecture at the 45th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting, which will be held April 23-25, 2020, in San Francisco, CA.

Nominations should be made using the Gaston Labat Award nomination form by June 30, 2018.

Distinguished Service Award

ASRA annually recognizes someone who has made important contributions to our specialty through our Distinguished Service Award (DSA).  Past recipients of the DSA have made extraordinary contributions to the science, teaching, or practice of regional anesthesia and/or pain medicine and often have had active involvement in ASRA. Contributions could include scholarly activity but may also celebrate clinical teaching or service to ASRA or the scientific and medical specialties practiced by ASRA members. 

The award recipient will have the choice of receiving the award at either the 44th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting, being held April 11-13, 2019, in Las Vegas, NV, or the 18th Annual Pain Medicine Meeting, being held November 14-16, 2019, in New Orleans, LA.

Nominations must be made using the DSA nomination form by June 30, 2018.

Board of Directors

The Committee on Nominations is issuing to the ASRA membership this call for nominations of individuals to serve on the ASRA Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors is charged with oversight of the Society. The responsibilities of a Board Member are:

  • To promote the Society's core missions of education and research
  • To constantly reaffirm the Society's unique niche and not allow its focus to become diffused
  • To actively present regional anesthesia and pain medicine as important clinical subspecialties to trainees, colleagues, and industry

ASRA Directors comprise a group of four Officers and seven Directors-at-Large. Terms of service commence at the close of the 2019 spring meeting. Directors may be elected to a one- or two-year term, with eligibility to be re-elected at the end of his or her initial term. Directors-at-Large may serve a maximum of five years in that capacity. 

The Nominations Committee presents to the Board of Directors a list of nominees for open Director-at-Large positions. The Board of Directors elects those individuals who will fill the open positions on the Board.

ASRA members are asked to nominate physicians and scientists who have distinguished themselves in the areas of regional anesthesia and pain medicine for this position. The nominee must be an active member of ASRA. Self-nomination is permitted. A summary statement is required for all nominees.

Nominations must be made using the Board of Directors nomination form by June 30, 2018.