Gaston Labat Award

The ASRA Gaston Labat Award Committee annually seeks nominations from the ASRA membership for individuals who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the development, teaching, and practice of regional anesthesia in the tradition of Gaston P. Labat, MD (1843-1908). The Gaston P. Labat Lecture is presented each spring at the ASRA Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting. Members are asked to nominate qualified anesthesiologists who have distinguished themselves in two of the following areas of regional anesthesia: research, teaching, or clinical practice. The emphasis of the award is to recognize those who have fostered the art and science of regional anesthesia in the tradition of Gaston Labat by contribution to the performance of research that has furthered the specialty, innovative teaching traditions, organizational contributions, or simply exemplary clinical practice of regional anesthesia that has encouraged its expanded application.

Dr. Joseph Neal (middle), was given the award at the 44th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting by Dr. Asokumar Buvanendran (left) and Dr. Eugene Viscusi (right), on April 13, 2019.

Dr. Labat and his colleagues founded the original American Society of Regional Anesthesia in 1923, shortly after the publication of his landmark textbook of regional techniques. It should be noted that his colleagues wanted to honor Dr. Labat by calling the fledging organization the Labat Society. The first ASRA merged with the American Society of Anesthesiologists in 1939 and dissolved after the merger. The records of the early society are preserved at the Wood Library - Museum of Anesthesiology at the ASA office in Park Ridge, Illinois. The present day ASRA was refounded in 1975.

Nominees should be nationally recognized and their contributions to the subspecialty duly noted by a broad audience. The individual need not be a member of ASRA, and the receipt of previous awards from ASRA does not disqualify him or her. Current members of the Board of Directors are not eligible (see full list here). Nominations must be made using the Gaston Labat Award Nomination Form.  Nominations are open throughout June.

Past Winners:


John J. Bonica, MD

Daniel C. Moore, MD

1978 Sir Robert Macintosh
1979 Torsten Gordh, MD
1980 John Adriani, MD
1981 Robert Hingson, MD
1982 Alon P. Winnie, MD
1983 Peere C. Lund, MD
1984 Philip R. Bromage, MB, FFARCS, FFARCA
1985 J. Alfred Lee, MD
1986 Benjamin G. Covino, MD, PhD
1987 Nicholas Greene, MD
1988 D. Bruce Scott, MD

Ronald Melzack, PhD

Patrick Wall, MD

1990 P. Prithvi Raj, MD
1991 Bertil Lofstrom, MD
1992 B. Raymond Fink, MD
1993 Sol M. Shnider, MD
1994 Phillip O. Bridenbaugh, MD
1995 Rudolph H. DeJong MD
1996 Michael J. Cousins, MD, FANZCA
1997 Gale E. Thompson, MD
1998 Stefano Ischia, MD
1999 L. Brian Ready, MD
2000 Gary R. Strichartz, PhD
2001 Cosmo A. DiFazio, MD, PhD
2002 John A.W. Wildsmith, MD, FRCA
2003 Brendan T. Finucane, MD
2004 David L. Brown, MD
2005 Henrik Kehlet, MD, PhD
2006 Dag E. Selander, MD, PhD
2007 Michael F. Mulroy, MD
2008 James C. Eisenach, MD
2009 Quinn H. Hogan, MD
2010 Narinder Rawal, MD
2011 Terese Toddie Horlocker, MD
2012 Denise J. Wedel, MD
2013 Admir Hadzic, MD, PhD
2014 Per H. Rosenberg, MD

John C. Rowlingson, MD


Vincent W.S. Chan, MD, FRCPC


Nigel E. Sharrock, MB, ChB


Alain Borgeat, MD


Joseph M. Neal, MD


Guy L. Weinberg, MD