John J. Bonica Award

The American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine John J. Bonica Award is presented annually at the Annual Pain Medicine Meeting to an individual for his or her outstanding contributions to the development, teaching, and practice of pain medicine in the tradition of John J. Bonica, MD, a champion of multidisciplinary collaboration in the evaluation and treatment of patients with pain. Nominations are due each December 31st.

Make a nomination

Dr. Michael Stanton-Hicks (center) received the John J. Bonica Award on November 18, 2017, at the 16th Annual Pain Medicine Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

Past Winners:

1988 Michael J. Cousins, MD, FANZCA
1989 Tony Yakish, PhD
1990 Daniel C. Moore, MD
1991 Kenneth L. Casey, MD
1992 Stephen E. Abram, MD
1993 Henrik Kehlet, MD
1994 Laurence E. Mather, PhD
1995 John D. Loeser, MD
1996 Robert A. Boas, MB
1997 David H. Chestnut, MD
1998 Allan I. Basbaum, PhD
1999 Robert Elde, PhD
2000 Geral Gebhardt, PhD
2001 Donna L. Hammond, PhD
2002 Maria Fitgerald, PhD
2003 Christopher M. Bernards, MD
2004 Daniel B. Carr, MD
2005 James C. Eisenach, MD
2006 Howard L. Fields, MD, PhD
2007 John C. Rowlingson, MD
2008 Fernando Cervero, MD, PhD, DSc
2009 P. Prithvi Raj, MD
2010 Srinivasa N. Raja, MD
2011 James P. Rathmell, MD
2012 Jianren Mao, MD, PhD
2013 Richard L. Rauck, MD
2014 Steven P. Cohen, MD
2015 Richard Rosenquist, MD
2016 Honorio Benzon, MD
2017 Michael Stanton-Hicks, MD
2018 Charles Berde, MD

Learn more about John J. Bonica: The amazing story of the man who gave us modern pain relief