Trailblazer Awards

Make a nomination

ASRA's Trailblazer Awards are designed to honor the achievements of women in the Society and the specialties of acute and chronic pain and regional anesthesia. These awards will only be presented in 2020 as part of an overall focus on the "Year of Women in ASRA." 

The purpose of the awards is to recognize women who may have been overlooked for ASRA Awards in the past, possibly due to a lack of inclusivity or unconscious bias. These awards celebrate individuals' impressive careers and contributions to our field.

Individual contributions may have resulted in any one (or several) of the following:

  • Growth of a subspecialty of regional anesthesia or pain medicine
  • Evolution of the knowledge base that guides practice
  • Enhancement of education programs
  • Significant changes in governance or the political milieu for regional anesthesia or pain medicine
  • New understanding of pain mechanisms or regional anesthesia
  • Mentoring of and/or advocating for women colleagues and/or trainees
  • Improved patient care, satisfaction, and outcomes.

As noted, these contributions could include scholarly activity (remember that the Gaston Labat and John Bonica Awards specifically recognize scholarly activity), but may also celebrate clinical teaching or service to the scientific and medical specialties practiced by ASRA members. Individuals who have received ASRA’s Distinguished Service, Gaston Labat or John Bonica Awards are not disqualified from receiving the Trailblazer Award.

ASRA is accepting nominations for the Trailblazer Awards until January 15, 2020. 

Recipients will be recognized at either the 45th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting, April 23-25, 2020, in San Francisco, CA, or the 19th Annual Pain Medicine Meeting, November 19-21, 2020, in Las Vegas, NV, depending on their preference.

Make a nomination