Guy Weinberg, MD, Creator of the LAST Protocol to Receive Gaston Labat Award

Dr. Guy Weinberg

A pioneer in anesthesia will be honored by ASRA for his significant contributions to the field, including development of a life-saving protocol and standard of care now used throughout the world. Dr. Guy Weinberg has been awarded the 2020 Gaston Labat Award and Lectureship, which he will present at the 45th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

It was 1998 when Dr. Weinberg discovered that lipid emulsion therapy could be used to treat and even prevent local anesthetic systemic toxicity (LAST). He developed LipidRescue in 2006 to inform the medical community about the cardiotoxicities of local anesthetics, but since then the approach has also been found to reverse neurological toxicities associated with local anesthetics as well as cardiac toxicities associated with other agents.

ASRA published the first LAST guideline in 2010, and it has been updated twice since. The guideline has also been incorporated into an iPhone App to facilitate immediate access in the clinical setting.

ASRA’s Gaston Labat Award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the development, teaching, and practice of regional anesthesia in the tradition of Gaston P. Labat, MD (1843-1908).

Dr. Weinberg began his career in internal medicine and medical genetics and later completed his residency in anesthesiology at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. He has served as professor of anesthesiology at the University of Illinois College of Medicine in Chicago since 2003 and also works at the Jesse Brown VA Medical Center. He received the ASRA Distinguished Service Award in 2011.

Dr. Joseph Neal to Receive Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Joseph M. Neal

Dr. Joseph M. Neal has been selected to receive ASRA’s 2020 Distinguished Service Award. The award will be presented at the opening of the 45th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting.

A former president of ASRA (2012-2015) and editor-in-chief of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (2002-2012), Dr. Neal has been an active member of ASRA for many years and is widely respected in the field. He received the Gaston Labat Award and Lectureship in April 2019. Although he retired from clinical practice in 2018 at Virginia Mason Medical Center, he continues research and writing. He serves as an affiliate investigator at Benaroya Research Institute at Virginia Mason and as a clinical professor of anesthesiology at University of Washington School of Medicine.

Dr. Neal received his undergraduate and medical training at Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, NC, and the West Virginia University School of Medicine in Morgantown. He returned to Bowman Gray/Wake Forest University to complete residencies in emergency medicine and anesthesiology. After fellowship training in regional anesthesia at the Virginia Mason Medical Center in Seattle, WA, he joined that group in 1989. He directed the Virginia Mason regional anesthesia fellowship for over a decade as well as its anesthesiology residency program. He served as director of research from 2013-2017.

Dr. Neal has been a researcher on 12 grants, presented at hundreds of national and regional meetings, organized 24 meetings, authored over 74 peer-reviewed articles, and published four books on various topics in the regional anesthesia and pain medicine field.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to an individual for his or her outstanding service to ASRA or to the fields of pain medicine or regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine.