Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates. Programs with an asterisk behind the title indicate they are part of the SF Match Program. 



John H. Stroger Hospital of Cook County

Duration of Fellowship: One year

Core Related Specialty: Anesthesiology; Pain Management

Fellowship in The Match®? Yes

Application Deadline: Per Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®)/National Resident Matching Program® (NRMP®)

Number of Positions Available: 4

Salary: $66,021.12

Multidisciplinary pain fellowship.

Program Director
Maria Torres, MD
Fellowship Program Director
Phone: 312-864-3222
Email: mtorres4@cookcountyhhs.org

Associate Program Director
Taruna Penmetcha, MD
Associate Fellowship Program Coordinator
Phone: 312-864-3221
Email: tpenmetcha@cookcountyhhs.org

All applications to this program are to be submitted through the Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®).
Apply here. 

Applicant Interview Timeframe: February-May

Sponsored visas are offered for international applicants.

  • Specialty: Chronic Pain
  • Duration:1 year
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:4
  • Deadline: Per Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®)/National Resident Matching Program® (NRMP®)
  • Salary: $66,021.12
  • Contact Person: Kaitlynn Delvalle Residency and Fellowship Program Coordinator
  • Email: Kaitlynn.delvalle@cookcountyhhs.org
  • Phone: 312-864-1905
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • 1901 W. Harrison Street
  • First Floor, Clinic B
  • Chicago
  • Illinois 60612
  • Telephone: 312-864-3222
  • Website: https://cookcountyhealth.org/education-research/fellowship-programs/pain-medicine/
  • Director: Maria Torres, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
    • Azzam Alkhudari, MD
    • Abed Rahman, MD
    • Gunar Subieta, MD
    • Rhamsis Ghaly, MD
    • Steve Clar, MD
    • Linda Strozdas, MD
    • Orland Mackie, MD
    • Reena Ghode, MD
  • Participating hospitals:
    • Stroger Hospital of Cook County
    • Cook County Health