Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates. Programs with an asterisk behind the title indicate they are part of the SF Match Program. 



Special Requirement: Completion of a Residency Program in Anesthesiology;  Completion/pass of USMLE Step 3

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: Rolling application process until all positions are filled for academic year 2021-2022
  • Salary: $64,000 + House Staff Benefits
  • Contact Person: Tammi Steffen Fellowship Coordinator
  • Email: tammi-steffen@uiowa.edu
  • Phone: (319) 356-7205
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • The University of Iowa; Department of Anesthesia
  • 200 Hawkins Drive, 6546 JCP
  • Iowa City
  • Iowa 52242-1079
  • Telephone: (319) 356-7205
  • Website: https://gme.medicine.uiowa.edu/regional-anesthesiology-and-acute-pain-medicine-fellowship
  • Director: Yatish Ranganath, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
    • Yatish Ranganath, MD, Clinical Associate Professor, Director of the Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship Program
    • Sangini Punia, MBBS, Clinical Assistant Professor
    • Melinda Seering, MD, Clinical Associate Professor, Medical Director of the Ambulatory Surgery Center
    • Tejinder Swaran Singh, MD, Clinical Associate Director; Director of the Pain Medicine Fellowship Program
    • Michelle C. Parra, MD, Clinical Associate Professor
    • Esperanza Ingersoll-Weng, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor
    • Randy Loftus, MD, Associate Professor
    • Sapna Ravindranath, MBBS, Clinical Assistant Professor
    • David Swanson, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor
    • Jacob Thomas, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor
    • Rakesh Sondekoppam Vijayashankar, MD, Clinical Associate Professor
    • Haider Darkzali, MBChB, Clinical Assistant Professor
  • Participating hospitals:
    • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
    • University of Iowa Ambulatory Surgery Center

Duration of Fellowship: One year

Core Related Specialty: Anesthesiology

Fellowship in The Match®? Yes

Application Deadline: Per Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®)/National Resident Matching Program® (NRMP®)

Number of Positions Available: 4 ACGME-accredited positions for board eligible or certified anesthesiologists, neurologists, and psychiatrists.

Salary: Dependent on PGY classification


The goal of the fellowship program is for the fellow to be exposed to the advanced interdisciplinary evaluation and management of acute, chronic, and cancer-related pain, and to procedures related to the treatment of these patients. Upon completion of the fellowship, the fellow will be able to function as an independent, board eligible pain management physician and consultant, competent in the interdisciplinary evaluation and treatment (including advanced interventional techniques) of complicated and routine pain problems. We provide multidisciplinary assessment and treatment of the full spectrum of ambulatory pain patients. To do this effectively, we have a facility and staff dedicated to pain management. We know that ongoing pain changes a person’s life in all areas, and we are here to help. Our approach is individualized treatment because we know every person experiences pain in a different way. Our team of pain specialists look at the whole person to evaluate the pain problem and develop a plan with the patient and their referring physician to improve their quality of life and pain control. We are unique because we bring together a dedicated group of professionals to provide state-of-the-art pain assessment and treatment, research into new treatments, and coordination with patients’ health care providers. As the only academic pain center in Iowa, we bring expertise to all pain patients. We provide consultation to patients and physicians not just in Iowa City, but throughout Iowa and beyond. We provide leadership and education in the field of pain medicine for our patients, our colleagues, and our region.

Information on how to apply can be found here, https://gme.medicine.uiowa.edu/pain-medicine-fellowship/how-apply.

Applicant Interview Timeframe: April and May

Sponsored visas are offered for international applicants.

  • Specialty: Chronic Pain
  • Duration:1 year
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:4
  • Deadline: Per Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®)/National Resident Matching Program® (NRMP®)
  • Salary:
  • Contact Person: Tammi Steffen, BS Anesthesia Fellowship Program Coordinator
  • Email: tammi-steffen@uiowa.edu
  • Phone: 319-356-7205
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • 200 Hawkins Drive
  • 6546 JCP
  • Iowa City
  • Iowa 52242
  • Telephone: 319-356-7205
  • Website: https://gme.medicine.uiowa.edu/pain-medicine-fellowship
  • Director: Tejinder Singh Swaran Singh, MBBS
  • Other affiliated faculty:
    • Rahul Rastogi, MBBS
    • Beth Dinoff, PhD
    • Katherine Hadlandsmyth, PhD
    • Lee Kral, PharmD, BCPS, CPE
    • Amy Pearson, MD
    • Tejinder Singh Swaran Singh, MBBS
    • Anureet Walia, MBBS, FRCA
    • Justin Wikle, MD
  • Participating hospitals:
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics