Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates. Programs with an asterisk behind the title indicate they are part of the SF Match Program. 



The University of Michigan

This is a Regional Anesthesiology fellowship which consists of being involved in the planning, consultation and performance of regional anesthesia and analgesia both at our tertiary hospital, University Hospital, as well as our ambulatory surgical centers.  Regarding fellowship learning and duties, one third of the time will be spent at the ambulatory surgery center, while the remaining two thirds of fellowship duties will be at the University Hospital.  Additionally, the fellows will have 40% faculty roles where they will work in our operating rooms as well as our labor and delivery floor, and later in the fellowship will also take faculty call for which there is compensation.

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: Accepted until position is filled
  • Salary: $104,800 salary, $3000 edu. fun + call reimb.
  • Contact Person: Doug Anderson, MD Director of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Services
  • Email: dougandr@med.umich.edu
  • Phone: (734) 936-4280
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • University of Michigan Medical Center
  • 1500 E. Medical Center Drive
  • Ann Arbor
  • Michigan 48109
  • Telephone: (734) 936-4280
  • Website: http://anes.med.umich.edu/index.html
  • Director: Doug Anderson, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
  • Srinivas Chiravuri, MD, Adult Acute Pain Service Director

    Paul Hilliard, MD, Medical Director of Institutional Opioid and Pain Management Strategy, Hospital Pain Committee Chair

    Melissa Byrne, MD, ASRA Faculty, POCUS Instructor

    Ronald Wasserman, MD, Pain Services Chief, SIS Instructor

    Goodarz Golmirzaie, MD, Pain Medicine Fellowship Director

  • Participating hospitals: