Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.

Mayo Clinic - Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education

The goal of the fellowship is to become an expert regional anesthesiology and acute pain medicine physician. Fellows perform a wide variety of peripheral nerve blocks using single-injection and continuous catheter techniques. The fellowship focuses on both conventional, landmark-based approaches and ultrasound-guided techniques. Fellows become proficient in the perioperative management of patients undergoing regional anesthesia. Research and quality improvement opportunities are available.

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: Rolling application; final deadline 4/15/20
  • Salary: $67,521 + benefits (PGY-5 stipend for 2019-2020)
  • Contact Person: Adam D. Niesen, MD Program Director
  • Email: niesen.adam@mayo.edu
  • Phone: (507) 266-2049
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine, Mayo Clinic
  • 200 First Street, SW
  • Rochester
  • Minnesota 55905
  • Telephone: (507) 266-2049
  • Website: www.mayo.edu/regional-anesthesiology-fellowship-minnesota
  • Director: Adam D. Niesen, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
    • Adam W. Amundson, MD
    • John A. Dilger, MD
    • Christopher M. Duncan, MD
    • Terese T. Horlocker, MD
    • Sandra L. Kopp, MD
    • Hugh M. Smith, MD
  • Participating hospitals:
    • Mayo Clinic Hospital, Methodist Campus
    • Mayo Clinic Hospital, Saint Marys Campus
    • Gonda Outpatient Procedure Center