Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



University Of Nebraska Medical Center (ACGME Accredited)

The University Of Nebraska Medical Center Department Of Anesthesiology Fellowship for Acute Pain Medicine and Regional Anesthesia is a one year ACGME accredited program. The fellowship is based out of the University of Nebraska Medical Center and Nebraska Medicine which is a large, tertiary care center and level 1 trauma center.  The fellow will gain expertise in a wide-variety of cutting edge regional, neuraxial, and medical management techniques.

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here


Required supporting documents:
Medical School Transcripts
Medical School Performance Evaluation
USMLE (or COMLEX) scores
In-Service Exam Scores
 ABA Basic Examination score report
Three letters of recommendation, including one from your training program director

Send completed applications and all supporting materials to sarah.matya@unmc.edu

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:1
  • Deadline: Accepted until position is filled
  • Salary: $67,226
  • Contact Person: Amy Guziec Fellowship Coordinator
  • Email: amy.guziec@unmc.edu
  • Phone: 402-559-7353
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • University Of Nebraska Medical Center- Department of Anesthesiology
  • 984455 Nebraska Medical Center
  • Omaha
  • Nebraska 68198
  • Telephone: 402-559-7353
  • Website: https://www.unmc.edu/anesthesia/fellowship/Regional_Acute_Pain_Fellowship.html
  • Director: Nicholas Heiser, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
  • Core faculty
    • Nicholas Heiser, MD (program director)
    • Thomas Nicholas, MD (Director of the Acute Pain Service)
    • Beth Burton, MD
    • Cale Kassel, MD
    • Bradley Fremming, MD
    • Madhuri Are, MD
    • Kimberly Haynes-Henson, MD
    • Michael Lankhorst, MD
    • Danstan Bagenda, MSc, PhD

     Additional faculty

    • Platt Neibur, MD
    • Terry Huang, MD
    •  Andrew Ingemansen, MD
    • David Stern, MD
    • Jessica Easton, MD
  • Participating hospitals:
  • Nebraska Medicine

    Werner Cancer Center

    Fritch Surgery Center

    Children’s Hospital