Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



University at Buffalo/Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Duration of Fellowship: One year

Core Related Specialty: Anesthesiology

Fellowship in The Match®? No

Application Deadline: March 15

Number of Positions Available: 2

Salary: Approximately $59,000


Our pain management fellowship is an American Board of Anesthesiology-approved training program. Our curriculum offers a wide exposure to acute, cancer, and chronic pain.

Please email the training program administrator (TPA). The TPA will send the applicant a universal application and the information needed to apply. You can find their contact information here: http://medicine.buffalo.edu/departments/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/pain-management.html

Applicant Interview Timeframe: March

Sponsored visas are offered for international applicants.

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:1 year
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: March 15
  • Salary: Approximately $59,000
  • Contact Person: Sarah Bauer, MBA Fellowship Training Program Administrator
  • Email: sarahbau@buffalo.edu
  • Phone: 716-829-6106
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • 77 Goodell Street, Suite 550
  • Buffalo
  • New York 14203
  • Telephone: 716-829-6106
  • Website: http://medicine.buffalo.edu/departments/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/pain-management.html
  • Director: Oscar DeLeon-Casasola, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
  • Program Director
    Oscar DeLeon-Casasola, MD
    Director, Anesthesiology Pain Management Fellowship
    Phone: 716-845-3240
    Email: Oscar.DeLeon@RoswellPark.org

    Associate Program Director
    James Hitt, MD, PhD
    Associate Program Director
    Phone: 716-225-4343
    Email: jim.hitt@yahoo.com

    Participating Affiliated Faculty:

    • Oscar DeLeon, MD: Director, Anesthesiology Pain Management Fellowship
    • Elizabeth Ditonto, MD: Clinical Assistant Professor
    • Ivan Cohen, MD: Assistant Professor
    • Benjamin Matson, MD: Assistant Professor
    • Melissa Rayhill, MD: Assistant Professor of Neurology, Adult Neurology Residency Program Director, Fellow of the American Headache Society, and Headache Specialist
    • James Hitt, MD, PhD: Associate Program Director
    • Michael Kagan, MD: Staff Anesthesiologist, Pain Management Specialist
    • Denise Mercurio-Riley, MD: Counseling Psychology, PhD 2012, Rehabilitation Counseling, MS 2008

  • Participating hospitals:
    • Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
    • Erie County Medical Center
    • VA Western New York Health Care System