Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



Ohio State University Medical Center - The Ohio State University ACGME Accredited

The Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship at The Ohio State University Medical Center provides participants with a well-rounded, one year clinical, research, and teaching experience focused on the perioperative care of surgical patients. Our hospitals are located in Columbus, Ohio, with most rotations divided between University Hospital Main and University Hospital East.

Clinical Exposure:
Emphasis on regional anesthesia for orthopedic surgery during the core months of training including refining skills for single-shot peripheral nerve and neuraxial blocks, and extensive training in perineural catheter placement and management techniques.

Daily cases from diverse patient and surgical populations ranging from geriatric trauma and total joint replacements to conditioned athletes with sports-related injuries.

Extensive training in the use of ultrasound-guidance for peripheral and neuraxial blocks, perineural catheters, and vascular access procedures.

Participation and management of inpatient and outpatient perineural catheter services.

Additional training in regional anesthetic techniques for general, obstetric, ophthalmology, thoracic, and pediatric surgical cases.

Chronic pain experience including outpatient chronic pain clinic and inpatient and outpatient Palliative rotations.

Learning the fundamentals and billing practices required for establishment and maintenance of a regional anesthesia service following completion of the fellowship.

Research Exposure:
Initiation and/or participation in completion of at least one IRB-approved clinical research protocol during the training period.

Presentation at one departmental grand rounds or national conference during the training period.
Presentation at quarterly divisional journal clubs.
Attendance at one (or two) national regional anesthesiology conference(s) during the training period.
Anatomical dissection of cadaver specimens provided to the department during the training period.

Teaching Exposure:
Active participation in the education of Anesthesiology Residents and medical student on service. Participation in teaching workshops offered by the department during the training period. Active participation and teaching in the cadaver lab provided each month for residents on service.

Duration: 12 months
Number of positions:1
Salary: $73,000 plus benefits, negotiable call
Application deadline: Until position is filled.

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: Accepted until position is filled
  • Salary: 65,000 plus benefits, moonlighting optional
  • Contact Person: Taylor Stein Fellowship Program Coordinator
  • Email: Taylor.Stein@osumc.edu
  • Phone: (614) 366-7093
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • Shana Schwartz RAAPM Fellowship Director c/o Miss Sarah Robertson The Ohio State University Hospital Department of Anesthesiology
  • 410 W. 10th Ave
  • Columbus
  • Ohio 43210
  • Telephone: (614) 293-8487
  • Website: https://medicine.osu.edu/departments/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/regional-anesthesiology-fellowship
  • Director: Shana Schwartz
  • Other affiliated faculty:
      • Peter DeSocio, M.D. (Clinical Director, OSU East)
      • Richard Bryant, M.D. (Director of RAAPM Main Hospital)
      • Edward Chen, M.D.
      • John Coffman, M.D
      • Peter Dienhart, M.D.
      • Michael Kushelev, M.D.
      • Matthew McKiernan, M.D.
      • Ken Moran, M.D.
      • Samiha M Nasser, M.D.
      • John Norton, D.O.
      • Jyoti Pandya, M.D.
      • Pedro Pineda, M.D.
      • Andrew Roth, M.D.
      • Shana Schwartz, M.D. (RAAPM Fellowship Director)
      • Thomas Smith, M.D.
  • Participating hospitals:
      • The Ohio State University Medical Center (OSU Hospital East, OSU Main, Ross Heart Hospital, James Cancer Hospital)
      • Ohio State's Eye & Ear Institute
      • Jameson Crane Sports Medicine Institute
      • Nationwide Children's Hospital