Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



University of Ottawa

The Ottawa Hospital is the major tertiary centre for the Nation’s capital and, the primary teaching centre for the University of Ottawa. It is home to the largest non military simulation centre in North America. The Regional Anesthesia Fellowship program is well established and nationally recognized. Our subspecialty core group has received Regional Anesthesia Fellowship training from a variety of locations: Brigham and Women's Harvard University, Duke University, The Monash University in Australia, The Virginia Mason Center in Seattle, The University of Toronto, University of Alberta and locally at the University of Ottawa. Our members have been awarded teaching awards for outstanding contributions to Resident, Fellow and Medical student teaching and administration in Regional Anesthetic Techniques. Former graduates of our Fellowship training program have been instrumental in the development of their own Regional Anesthesia training in their home base nationally and internationally. Our Fellowship program is one year in duration. Two Fellowship positions are open for each academic year that spans from July 1 to June 30. You will be based at either the Civic or General Campus.

Note:  Applications accepted: 18 to 12 months in advance of starting date.

Online application: please email estinson@toh.on.ca

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: Accepted until position is filled
  • Salary: $100,000
  • Contact Person: Elaine Stinson Administrative Assistant
  • Email: rramlogan@toh.ca
  • Phone: (613) 761-4169 ext 1
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • Dept of Anesthesiology Rm B307 The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
  • 1053 Carling Avenue, Mail Stop 249
  • Ottawa
  • Ontario, Canada K1Y 4E9
  • Telephone: (613) 761-4169 ext 1
  • Website: www.ottawa-anesthesia.org/Regional_Anesthesia_fellowship.shtml
  • Director: Reva Ramlogan
  • Other affiliated faculty:
    • Faraj Abdallah, M.D.
    • Michelle Chiu, M.D.
    • Ioana Costache, M.D.
    • Kristin Gadbois, M.D.
    • Rejean Gareau, M.D.
    • Alan Lane, M.D.
    • Anne Lui, M.D.
    • Colin McCartney, M.D.
    • Jason McVicar, M.D.
    • Desiree Persaud, M.D.
    • Reva Ramlogan, M.D. (Director)
    • Patrick Wong, M.D. (lead: General Campus)
  • Participating hospitals:
    • The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
    • The Ottawa Hospital Riverside Campus
    • The Ottawa Hospital General Campus