Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



Oregon Health & Science University (ACGME- Accredited)

Thank you for your interest in our Regional Anesthesia & Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship Program.

This program commences in August of each year and is 12 months in duration.  Applications are accepted beginning December 1st of the preceding year, and interviews are scheduled in the winter.

Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain became an ACGME approved fellowship in 2019.  All applicants must be eligible for an unlimited medical license through the Oregon Medical Board. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens must be legally able to work in the U.S. or eligible to obtain authorization to work. J1 visas do not meet this requirement for non-GME training programs.

We offer advanced training in all techniques of orthopedic and Regional Anesthesia (RA). Our patients benefit from a wide range of RA techniques from traditional to cutting edge for surgical anesthesia and/or acute pain control. Fellows are active participants on the RA team. Currently all RA techniques of the upper and lower extremities, as well as truncal blocks, are routinely performed at OHSU. Single-shot blocks and catheters are placed daily for adult and pediatric patients and many of our patients (over 1,500 in 2015) are discharged home with perineural infusions (including interscalene, supra/infraclavicular, femoral, saphenous and sciatic). While the majority of our blocks are placed using ultrasound guidance, fellows will also become proficient using traditional techniques.  Fellowship duties are not limited to the placement of neuraxial or peripheral nerve blocks, but also include patient selection and education as well as coordination of the RA team’s daily activities with nursing staff, anesthesia technicians, the pharmacy, surgeons, colleagues and the acute pain service (APS).  

Our RA faculty is large and diverse. The majority of our staff are fellowship trained in Regional Anesthesia & Acute Pain or Pain Medicine. We have active basic science, clinical, and education research programs. Our faculty are actively involved in teaching RA at national and international meetings. We have a formal Regional & Acute Pain fellowship curriculum that includes weekly didactics lecture series, Journal Club, cadaver workshops, and utilizes the Anesthesia Education Toolbox (developed here at OHSU). Fellows participate in at least one of the RA team's ongoing research projects, including manuscript preparation and data presentation at department and national meetings. In addition to supervising residents, fellows present formal lectures to anesthesiology residents and medical students.

At the completion of the training, fellows will be able to perform a comprehensive array of RA techniques, set up an ambulatory or hospital-based APS and conduct research to advance the specialty of RA.

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here


  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: February 15
  • Salary: $71,000 w/benefits, additional income w/extra call
  • Contact Person: Dana Bigham Program Specialist
  • Email: apomfellowships@ohsu.edu
  • Phone: (503) 494-4878
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine Oregon Health & Science University Mail Code UHS-2
  • 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road
  • Portland
  • Oregon 97239-3098
  • Telephone: (503) 494-4878
  • Website: http://www.ohsu.edu/xd/education/schools/school-of-medicine/departments/clinical-departments/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/ortho-regional-fellowship.cfm
  • Director: Nathalie Lunden, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:

      • Ryan Ivie, M.D.
      • Michael Barrington, M.D. MBBS, FANZCA, PhD
      • Andrew Corcoran, M.D.
      • Robert Cross, M.D.
      • Kristin Thompson, M.D.
      • Glenn Woodworth, M.D.,
      • Leila Zuo, M.D.
      •  Stephen Robinson M.D., Chair
  • Participating hospitals:
    • Oregon Health and Science University Hospital