Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Memorial Hermann Hospital is the busiest Level One trauma center in the nation, located in the largest medical center in the world, thereby allowing this regional program to emphasize all aspects of regional anesthesia. The fellows will be exposed to various types of peripheral nerve blocks, as well as placement of indwelling catheters for postoperative pain management using both nerve stimulation and ultrasound.  Between three locations, current procedural caseloads average 3,000 per year. The Regional Anesthesia service also provides acute pain management consults for adult patients. 

Research opportunities: Fellows will have protected research time on a weekly basis, and are required to present at the American Society for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Conference in the spring.   The fellows are also expected to publish at least one article in a peer-reviewed journal.  

Rotations include: Orthopedic Trauma Block Team, Ambulatory Surgery Block Team, Acute Pain Service, Transesophageal Echo, Transthoracic Echo.

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:2
  • Deadline: Rolling
  • Salary: $62,001
  • Contact Person: J. Blair de Haan, MD Fellowship Director
  • Email: johanna.b.dehaan@uth.tmc.edu
  • Phone: (713) 500-6271
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • 6431 Fannin
  • MSB Room 5.020
  • Houston
  • Texas 77030
  • Telephone: (713) 500-6271
  • Website: https://www.uth.edu/
  • Director: J. Blair de Haan, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
    • Vadim Ioselevich, M.D.
    • Sudipta Sen, M.D.
    • Sumreen Vaid-Pinyard, M.D.
    • Semhar Ghebremichael, M.D.
    • Yefim Bogomolny, M.D.
    • Sara Guzman-Reyes, M.D.
    • Omonele Nwokolo, M.D.
  • Participating hospitals:
    • Memorial Hermann Hospital - TMC Campus
    • Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital
    • Memorial Hermann Ambulatory Surgery Center
    • Memorial Hermann Heart and Vascular Institute