Criteria and Submission Process

Resident/Fellow of the Year Award

Award Criteria

The Resident/Fellow of the Year Award is given annually to a resident or fellow who has demonstrated significant contributions to ASRA Pain Medicine events or activities related to regional anesthesia and/or pain medicine. 


  • The candidate must be an ASRA Pain Medicine resident or fellow member in good standing.


  • The Resident Section Committee (RSC) shall seek nominations from the membership in writing, and the nominee must agree to such a nomination.
  • Nominations may be submitted by ASRA Pain Medicine Regular, Affiliate, and Resident/Fellow members.
  • Self-applications are not eligible.
  • Active Resident Section Committee Chair and Chair-Elect are not eligible for nomination.
  • Individuals may be re-nominated in subsequent years; however, previous winners of the same award are not eligible to win again.
  • Past winners of other Society awards are eligible.


  • Nomination letter addressing the criteria.
  • Curriculum vitae of the candidate.
  • Official nomination form.


  • Applications for this award are adjudicated by the Resident Section Committee Chair, Chair-Elect, and Faculty Advisors.
  • A candidate and an alternate will be selected from the list of nominations.
  • The names of the selected candidate and the alternate for the award will be presented to the Board of Directors for confirmation at the Board Meeting after the Committee finalizes the selection.


  • Demonstrated outstanding contributions to ASRA Pain Medicine events or activities related to Regional Anesthesia and/or Pain Medicine.
  • Contribution to the advancement of the profession of medicine, the welfare of residents; and/or, quality of residency education.
  • Evidence of strong role modeling and mentorship ability among his/her peers.
  • Embodies the values of ASRA Pain Medicine.


  • One award will be presented annually at the ASRA Pain Medicine Annual Spring or Fall Meeting; however, an award need not be given annually.
  • The award winner will receive a plaque recognizing his/her contribution, a travel award of up to $1,500, and complimentary meeting registration.
  • The winner may choose whether to receive the award at the Annual Spring or Fall Meeting and will be introduced at the Meeting by the President of ASRA Pain Medicine, the Chair of the Resident Section Committee, or another distinguished individual.
  • The Chair of the Resident Section Committee will give a brief presentation of the awardee's distinguished work performed in regional anesthesia and/or pain medicine leading to this award.
Close Nav