Distinguished Service Award

ASRA Pain Medicine annually recognizes someone who has made important contributions to our specialty through our Distinguished Service Award (DSA).  Past recipients of the DSA have made extraordinary contributions to the science, teaching, or practice of regional anesthesia and/or pain medicine and often have had active involvement in ASRA Pain Medicine.

The DSA celebrates individuals who have made broad contributions over time. The individual's contributions may have resulted in any one (or several) of the following:

  • Growth of a subspecialty of regional anesthesia or pain medicine
  • Evolution of the knowledge base that guides practice
  • Enhancement of education programs
  • Significant changes in governance or the political milieu for regional anesthesia or pain medicine
  • New understanding of pain mechanisms or of regional anesthesia
  • Improved patient care, satisfaction, and outcome.

As noted above, these contributions could include scholarly activity (remember that the Gaston Labat and John Bonica Awards specifically recognize scholarly activity), but may also celebrate clinical teaching or service to ASRA Pain Medicine or the scientific and medical specialties practiced by members. Individuals who have received ASRA Pain Medicine’s Gaston Labat or John Bonica Awards are not disqualified from receiving the DSA. Current members of the Board of Directors are not eligible (see full list here).

Nominations must be made using the DSA nomination form. Two to three reasons why the candidate meets the criteria for the award are required, along with a copy of the individual's CV. If necessary, ASRA Pain Medicine can request a copy of the CV from the nominee.



Colin McCartney, MBChB, PhD, FRCA
2024 Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Dr. Ed Mariano

Edward R. Mariano, MD, MAS, FASA
2023 Distinguished Service Award Recipient


Past Winners

1988B. Raymond Fink, MD
1989L. Donald Bridenbaugh, MD
1990Gertie Marx, MD
1991Harold Carron, MD
1992John A. Hinckley & Jess B. Weiss, MD
1993Jordan Katz, MD
1994Albert Van Steenberg, MD
1995Hans Nolte, MD
1996John A. DeKrey, MD & Gerard W. Ostheimer, MD
1997Terence M. Murphy, MD
1998Boardman C. Wang, MD
1999Michael Stanton-Hicks, MD
2000Narinder Rawal, MD, PhD
2001Stephen E. Abram, MD
2002Jose C.A. Carvalho, MD, PhD, FANZCA
2003Andre Van Zundert, MD, PhD
2004Denise J. Wedel, MD
2005P. Prithvi Raj, MD & Alon P. Winnie, MD
2006Lynn M. Broadman, MD
2007John C. Rowlingson, MD
2008David Brown, MD
2009Terese Horlocker, MD
2010Honorio Benzon, MD
2011Guy Weinberg, MD
2012James Eisenach, MD
2013Richard Rosenquist, MD
2014F. Michael Ferrante, MD
2015Manbir Batra, MD
2016Santhanam Suresh, MD
2017Vincent W.S. Chan, MD, FRCPC
2018Greg Liguori, MD
2019Mark J. Lema, MD, PhD
2020Joseph M. Neal, MD & Marc Huntoon, MD
2021F. Kayser Enneking, MD
2022Ban C.H. Tsui, MD
2023Edward R. Mariano, MD, MAS, FASA
2024Colin McCartney, MBChB, PhD, FRCA


Close Nav