John J. Bonica Award

john-j-bonicaThe American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine John J. Bonica Award is presented annually at the Annual Pain Medicine Meeting to an individual for his or her outstanding contributions to the development, teaching, and practice of pain medicine in the tradition of John J. Bonica, MD, a champion of multidisciplinary collaboration in the evaluation and treatment of patients with pain. 

Dr. Philip Peng

2020 John J. Bonica Award recipient Dr. Philip Peng

Past Winners:

1988Michael J. Cousins, MD, FANZCA
1989Tony Yakish, PhD
1990Daniel C. Moore, MD
1991Kenneth L. Casey, MD
1992Stephen E. Abram, MD
1993Henrik Kehlet, MD
1994Laurence E. Mather, PhD
1995John D. Loeser, MD
1996Robert A. Boas, MB
1997David H. Chestnut, MD
1998Allan I. Basbaum, PhD
1999Robert Elde, PhD
2000Geral Gebhardt, PhD
2001Donna L. Hammond, PhD
2002Maria Fitgerald, PhD
2003Christopher M. Bernards, MD
2004Daniel B. Carr, MD
2005James C. Eisenach, MD
2006Howard L. Fields, MD, PhD
2007John C. Rowlingson, MD
2008Fernando Cervero, MD, PhD, DSc
2009P. Prithvi Raj, MD
2010Srinivasa N. Raja, MD
2011James P. Rathmell, MD
2012Jianren Mao, MD, PhD
2013Richard L. Rauck, MD
2014Steven P. Cohen, MD
2015Richard Rosenquist, MD
2016Honorio Benzon, MD
2017Michael Stanton-Hicks, MD

Charles Berde, MD


Nagy Mekhail, MD, PhD


Philip Peng, MBBS, FRCPC, Founder (Pain Medicine)

Close Nav