About ASRA

Our vision is to relieve the global burden of pain.

Our mission is to advance the science and practice of regional anesthesia and pain medicine to improve patient outcomes through research, education, and advocacy.

The American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA) is one of the largest subspecialty medical societies in anesthesiology with more than 5,000 members in 66 countries on 6 continents.

We accomplish our mission and vision by addressing the clinical and professional educational needs of physicians and scientists, ensuring excellence in patient care utilizing regional anesthesia and pain medicine, and investigating the scientific basis of the specialty.

Our Core Values are Integrity,  Innovation, Inclusiveness, Service, Compassion, and Wellness

ASRA Board of Directors

Dr. Samer Narouze

Samer Narouze, MD, PhD

Dr. David Provenzano

David Provenzano, MD

Dr. Steven P. Cohen

Steven P. Cohen, MD

Dr. Eugene Viscusi

Immediate Past President
Eugene Viscusi, MD

Dr. Nabil Elkassabany

Nabil Elkassabany, MD, MSCE

Dr. Stuart Grant

Stuart Grant, MBChB, MMCI

Dr. Raj Gupta

Rajnish Gupta, MD


Sandra L. Kopp, MD

Dr. Carlos Pino

Carlos Pino, MD

Dr. Meg Rosenblatt

Meg A. Rosenblatt, MD

Votta Velis_Gina

Gina Votta-Velis, MD, PhD

Angie Stengel

Executive Director
Angie Stengel, MS, CAE


ASRA was officially "re-founded" in 1975, led by Alon P. Winnie, MD, who had a dream of a society devoted to teaching regional anesthesia. (An earlier group of the same name was founded in 1923 as a tribute to Gaston Labat.) ASRA recently celebrated its 40th Anniversary. On this occasion, ASRA founding fathers and former presidents reflected on 40 years of advancing the science and practice of regional anesthesia and pain medicine in a series of videos, including an interview with the late P. Prithvi Raj. For more information on the history of ASRA, download our 40th Anniversary Commemorative Booklet.

Founding Fathers

L. Donald Bridenbaugh, MD (1923-2018)
Harold Carron, MD (1916-1991)
Jordan Katz, MD (1932-2014)
P. Prithvi Raj, MD  (1931-2016)
Alon P. Winnie, MD (1932-2015)

Learn more about our history and view our past presidents.

ASRA blue

Research Grants

ASRA offers four research grants to support research in regional anesthesia and acute and chronic pain: the Carl Koller Memorial Research Grant, the Chronic Pain Medicine Research Grant, the Early-Stage Investigator Award, and the Graduate Student Award.



ASRA recognizes the best and brightest in the field through our Awards Program, which includes the Distinguished Service Award, Gaston Labat Award, John J. Bonica Award, Resident/Fellow of the Year Award, and Presidential Scholar Award.

Blue A


ASRA is a 501(c)3, and donations are tax-deductible. Please consider making a donation to our research grants program to support the discovery and advancement of knowledge in the field.


Corporate Partners

ASRA welcomes support from its corporate partners. Together, we can make a difference for patients and the education of physicians who serve them.


Advertising and Sponsorship

We have several opportunities available to help companies reach regional anesthesia and acute and chronic pain specialists.

ASRA blue

Press Room

Read our latest press releases and find out more about how we are accomplishing our mission.

Close Nav