Article Item

ASRA Welcomes New President at Close of Spring 2021 Meeting

May 18, 2021, 11:47 AM by ASRA

Dr. Samer NarouzeSamer Narouze, MD, PhD, has been named president of ASRA, succeeding Eugene Viscusi, MD, whose two-year term was completed at the close of the 46th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting held May 13-15, 2021, in Lake Buena Vista, FL.

Dr. Narouze, who began his service on the ASRA Board of Directors in 2013, is a professor of anesthesiology and surgery at NEOMED and Ohio University. He has served for many years as faculty for ASRA meetings and is a past chair of the Practice Management Committee, past co-chair of the Pain and MSK Certification Examination Board, and past member of the CME and Nominating committees. 

Dr. Narouze is board certified in anesthesiology, pain medicine, headache medicine, and interventional pain management. He is the chair of the Center for Pain Medicine at Western Reserve Hospital in Cuyahoga Falls, OH. Dr. Narouze serves on many committees for national and international headache and pain organizations. He has published about 200 research papers, review articles, book chapters, and abstracts. His areas of interest are pain, headache, cannabinoids, diversity and inclusion, wellness, obesity, and ultrasound.

Dr. Viscusi passed the gavel to Dr. Narouze in a ceremony held Saturday, May 15, during the Excellence in ASRA Awards program, which was offered to both in-person and virtual meeting attendees. Dr. Narouze then served Dr. Viscusi with the Presidential Scroll marking the conclusion of his term as president.

Drs Viscusi and Narouze May 2021

In his comments, Dr. Viscusi thanked the members of ASRA, saying, "It's really been the highlight of my career. It's been an honor and a privilege."

Taking the stage as the new ASRA president, Dr. Narouze commended Dr. Viscusi on his service, "Through his leadership and vision, ASRA not only managed to survive through the past tough year but we flourished," he said. "It will be very tough to fill your shoes, but I will do my best. I'm very honored and humbled. I will try to do my best to be a good servant."

With the promotion of Dr. Narouze into the president role, Dr. David Provenzano will now serve as president-elect and Dr. Steven P. Cohen assumes the role of treasurer. Each position lasts for two years before another changing of the guard.

If you registered for the ASRA Spring meeting, you can watch a video of the Excellence in ASRA Awards program on the Mobile Event Site, here.


Load more comments
New code
Comment by from
Close Nav