Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates. Programs with an asterisk behind the title indicate they are part of the SF Match Program. 



The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Duration of Fellowship: One year

Core Related Specialty: Anesthesiology; Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Fellowship in The Match®? Yes

Application Deadline: Per Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®)/National Resident Matching Program® (NRMP®)

Number of Positions Available: 4

Salary: Annual: $62,154; Monthly: $5,179


The UAB Pain Medicine Fellowship program offers a robust training opportunity in an intimate atmosphere allowing for a great work/life balance. The fellows always exceed ACGME requirements due to a wide variety of clinical and research exposure. The fellows are proactive in their learning by functioning as educators of the principles and techniques they learn during their fellowship. There is strong advocacy for the fellows by all the pain faculty. All fellow graduates are excellent pain medication and interventional pain consultants prepared to enter any practice, private or academic, independently and almost all graduates join their first job choice. The pain medicine fellowship program consists of twelve months of post-graduate training after satisfactory completion of a residency program in anesthesiology, neurology, or physical medicine and rehabilitation. The fellowship program is accredited by the ACGME within the department of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine. Pain fellows must obtain satisfactory evaluations in their primary and elective rotations leading to board certification in pain medicine by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). The division of pain medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham specializes in the multidisciplinary treatment of patients with acute, chronic, and cancer pain. Our primary goal is providing quality patient care in a setting that utilizes the resources of a large, academic institution. Located in the UAB Highlands facility, the Pain Treatment Clinic hosts 10,000 patient visits per year, including over 1,000 new patient evaluations and approximately 5,000 interventional pain procedures each year. Our division works closely in collaboration with the departments of PM&R, orthopedics, neurology, psychiatry, and palliative care to provide comprehensive care for our patients.

All applications to this program are to be submitted through the Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®).
Apply here. 

Applicant Interview Timeframe: May-July

  • Specialty: Chronic Pain
  • Duration:1 year
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:4
  • Deadline: Per Electronic Residency Application Service® (ERAS®)/National Resident Matching Program® (NRMP®)
  • Salary: Annual: $62,154; Monthly: $5,179
  • Contact Person: Ashley Garrett, MD Fellowship Education Administrator
  • Email: astandridge@uabmc.edu
  • Phone: 205-996-9571
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • Jefferson Tower – 941
  • 625 19th Street South
  • Birmingham
  • Alabama 35249-6810
  • Telephone: 205-996-9571
  • Website: https://www.uab.edu/medicine/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/pain-med
  • Director: Alethia Sellers, MD
  • Other affiliated faculty:
  • Program Director
    Alethia Sellers, MD
    Associate Professor, Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
    Phone: 205-934-6501
    Email: abaldwin@uabmc.edu

    Associate Program Director
    Prentiss Lawson, MD (moving to PD in Sept 2021)
    Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
    Phone: 205-934-6501
    Email: palawson@uabmc.edu

    • Mark Bailey, DO PhD
    • Brooke Bell, MD
    • Brandon Brooks, MD
    • Mark Carter, DO
    • Ashlee Fulmer, MD
    • Carolyn Kezar, MD
    • Peter Kane, MD
    • Jason McKeown, MD
    • Peter Nagi, MD
    • Timothy Ness, MD PhD
    • Christopher Paul, MD
    • Roland Short, MD
    • Keith Swetz, MD
    • James Weisberg, PhD
  • Participating hospitals:
    • UAB Main University Hospital
    • UAB Highlands Hospital
    • Birmingham Veterans Affairs Medical Center