Fellowship directory

Physicians applying for a fellowship program in regional anesthesiology/acute pain medicine must be currently enrolled in, or have completed, an accredited anesthesiology residency program. Each individual program may have additional requirements such as medical licensing. The information published here has been supplied by the individual institutions. Please check back frequently for updates.



University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Fellows will pursue a comprehensive 12-month experience in regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine.  Training will include peripheral nerve, nerve plexus, truncal blockade and neuraxial procedures and acute pain medicine for surgical and nonsurgical patients including perineural catheters, ultrasound-guided and nerve stimulator localization techniques.  Through a fellowship in regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine an individual will progress in his or her development as a perioperative physician and develop the expertise to excel in academic and private practice environments.

The field of regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine received approval to create ACGME fellowships in 2016. The structure of the UTSW  fellowship is consistent with these ACGME guidelines. We are currently seeking ACGME accreditation for our fellowship.

This program uses the common application. Submit the completed application directly to the individual Fellowship Program.

Apply here

  • Specialty:Acute Pain/Regional Anesthesia
  • Duration:12 months
  • Start Year:
  • Positions:1
  • Deadline: June 30th or rolling if unfilled at that time
  • Salary: to be determined
  • Contact Person: Kelli Speer
  • Email: anesfellowship@utsouthwestern.edu
  • Phone: (214) 648-4831
  • Facility:
  • Address:
  • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd
  • Dallas
  • Texas 75390-9068
  • Telephone: 214.648.7837
  • Website: http://www.utswanesthesia.org/
  • Director: Anthony Machi, M.D.
  • Other affiliated faculty:
  • John Alexander, M.D.
    Kanu Birdi, M.D.
    Trent Bryson, M.D.
    Gloria Cheng, M.D.
    Jose Garcia, M.D.
    Irina Gasanova, M.D.
    Stephanie Jones, M.D.
    Enas Kandil, M.D.
    Mitchell Lin, M.D.
    Carl Noe, M.D.
    Adnan Rafique, M.D.
    Humair Rana, M.D.
    Sandy Thammasithiboon, M.D.

  • Participating hospitals:
  • William P. Clements, Jr. University Hospital, Zale Lipshy University Hospital, UTSW Outpatient Surgery Center,  Parkland Hospital System, Eugene McDermott Pain Management Center, Children's Medical Center Dallas